Question: Who Determines Hazardous Area Classification?

What is considered a hazardous location?

The National Electrical Code (NEC) defines hazardous locations as those areas “where fire or explosion hazards may exist due to flammable gases or vapors, flammable liquids, combustible dust, or ignitable fibers or flyings.” A substantial part of the NEC is devoted to the discussion of hazardous locations..

How many different hazardous location classifications has OSHA identified?

three typesHazardous Location Types There are three types of hazardous locations.

What is a Class 1 hazardous location?

Class 1 Hazardous Locations refer to facilities which deal with flammable gases, vapors, and liquids. Division 2 specifies that these flammable materials are handled, processed, or used in the defined hazardous location, but are not normally present in concentrations high enough to be ignitable.

What is a Class 1 Div 1 area?

Class I, Division 1 classified locations. An area where ignitable concentrations of flammable gases, vapors or liquids can exist all of the time or some of the time under normal operating conditions. A Class I, Division 1 area encompasses the combination of Zone 0 and Zone 1 areas.

What is ATEX Zone?

ATEX is an acronym derived from the words “Atmospheres Explosibles” and forms part of a European equipment directive known as ATEX 2014-34 EU. The directive covers manufacturing standards and ensures that people are protected against the risk that may be caused by dangerous substances.

What is the benefit of hazardous area classification?

Hazardous area classification drawings provide a road map that ensures that electrical/electronic equipment can be safely and properly specified and installed in hazardous (classified) locations such that the risk of fires or explosions is greatly reduced.

What is hazardous classification?

Hazard Classification is a process required under paragraph (d) of 29 CFR 1910.1200 (the OSHA Haz-com standard) Specifically: … Classification lists the specific Classes of hazards, for example carcinogenicity or flammable solid. Within the Hazard Classes the degree of hazard is indicated with a Category.

Is Gas Group IIC better than IIB?

– Group IIB—Atmospheres containing ethylene, or gases and vapors of equivalent hazard. – Group IIC—Atmospheres containing acetylene or hydrogen, or gases and vapors of equivalent hazard. with an explosive dust atmosphere.

What does ATEX approved mean?

If a product / piece of equipment has official ATEX certification, it has been fully tested and approved to be safe to use in hazardous / explosive atmospheres.

What is the main purpose of hazard identification?

Overall, the goal of hazard identification is to find and record possible hazards that may be present in your workplace. It may help to work as a team and include both people familiar with the work area, as well as people who are not – this way you have both the experienced and fresh eye to conduct the inspection.

How many classifications of hazardous atmospheres are listed in the NEC?

There are three levels of hazard for each dust and gas in the NEC Zone System (Zones 1, 2, 3, 20, 21 and 22), whereas the CEC Zone System only has three (Zones 0, 1 and 2) and the Division system has only two levels that encompass all hazardous materials.

What is ex in hazardous classification?

Ex rated equipment refers to equipment that has been classified as safe for use in hazardous areas, which are often referred to as “Ex areas.” Non-Ex equipment may emit small sparks or reach high temperatures that can ignite in hazardous areas, causing explosions or fires.